Review: SNSD’s Oh! MV

FML the song has grown on me…

Why did I watch the MV with the audio on?? I thought the video was cute and I liked the choreo and I rewatched it until the song no longer bothered me!

Now I’ve been humming it all day long. Sigh.

Now my immediate thoughts on it go somewhere along these lines:

On the Members

My fave in the music video, Jessica!

  • Whoever decided to make Jessica blonde deserves a major pay raise.
  • Tiffany looks SO good with long black hair and that headband and very child of the 70s. Total flower child. LOVE IT!!
  • Sooyoung looks…boring to me, shocking because she is my favorite but even my bias wouldn’t let me defend her.
  • Seohyun looks adorable and very pretty.
  • Yoona looks bad with that boring hairdo and then the curls OOMPH. Not good.
  • Taeyeon’s curls aren’t flattering and that up-do. Is that really the best they could do?
  • Yuri’s hot. She has this charisma that just shoots out at you. I’m not really liking her curls but she carries them with attitude.
  • Sunny seems like a total caricature of a cartoon character. Take that however you want.
  • Hyoyeon looks really good in her pigtails and her normal ponytail for the cheer leading segment.

On the Music Video

Total pedophile bait, LOL. Some people are saying it’s degrading towards women but I think they’re making a mountain out of an anthill.

It’s the entertainment business, business being the key word, and cute images with sexual undertones sell in K-Pop. I think the reason it unsettles American fans is because we’re so accustomed to blatant in your face sex appeal or just plain as a button-cute.We can’t really take a hybrid.

Rihanna is blatant in-your-face sexy & Selena Gomez is cute. But imagining them mixing, that would be unsettling to us because we associate cuteness with children, but mixing some sex appeal with children grosses us out.

Culturally Asian view cuteness as representing youthful women, which is what most women want to be perceived as so you see even older woman turning on the “aegyo.” But at the same time, the fact that these girls are in their 20s makes it natural for them to be developing more of a sexual image.

So I don’t think the video is “degrading” truthfully. There’s a lot worse out there and this is definitely not it.

It’s not like they went all Hyori on us for goodness sake!

P.S> I’m saving my thoughts on the song until I review their full album!

Oh and speaking of growing on me, I’ve concluded that I like Change by Hyuna. I didn’t think it was anything special when it was released and I still don’t but it’s a guilty pleasure now.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kpopjpopomy.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/review-snsds-oh-mv/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That was a good one, “Total pedophile bait”. I lol’d.

    Good post although I kinda feel like a creeper after reading this..haha (:

    • LOL yeah sorry didn’t mean to infringe on your rights to ogle young women. Thanks for commenting =3


Leave a comment