Review: Son Dambi’s the queen Mini Album

Love the cover, I adore the French bourgeoisie era of style, especially when it’s Lolita like. Unfortunately that’s where the praise ends. I was actually debating whether or not to do a review of this album, but I decided to go ahead with it since I’m reviewing Narsha’s NARSHA mini-album as well and I feel the need to compare them.

dB Rider – This song starts out like you would think a mini-album named the queen would sound. A regal announcer (by regal I mean rapper) and the dramatic flair of trumpets. That all changes at the 15 second mark as this electronic beeping comes in and auto-tune comes into play. I really dislike how she sounds at the beginning, it’s so processed and not well. Around the 56 second mark though her voice softens and this song has officially confused me with its bipolar tendencies. Ugh, it’s a gross song, not well produced at all but it can sneak up behind you and you could like it only because of that chorus! Also if you like electronic techno music I think you’d like this.

RATING: 3/5

queen – This song does sound like Tik Tok by Ke$ha!! That’s not a good thing…She’s keeping up that annoying processed sound for her voice but luckily the melody and beats behind this are better than dB Rider. This song is so frustrating because you can see where it went wrong precisely and how easily it would have been to correct, to make a you know, decent song. Anyhow the repetition of ‘wake up wake up’ in the chorus is infectious, so obviously the producer wasn’t completely out of it. I actually want the ‘wake up’ part as my alarm! I think I’d wake up pretty happy. Other than that Son Dambi should not have made a comeback with this song, what the fudge was she thinking?

RATING: 3/5

Beat up by a girl – This song is actually better processing wise. Melody wise its predictable and not at all energizing or exciting, as I feel she’s trying to make it. The chorus is annoying, the verses are not bad, all in all this is a mediocre song with no redeeming factor. Ugh she isn’t quitting that speaking/singing thing, where she sounds really annoying as well!

RATING: 2.5/5

Can’t U See – Definitely the best song on this album, oh that piano melody and thumping claps in the background are beautiful and catch your attention in like the first few seconds. Also she actually sounds lovely on this track! She’s not the best singer but she has a pretty voice and this song is proof. If only her entire album had kept this as its standard, she’d have a hit on her hands. This song is the best she has on her album, it’s an absolute must listen.

RATING: 5/5

Super Duper – I’d take this song a lot more seriously if its name wasn’t Super Duper, but you know what I’ll put that aside because this is her second best song on the album and I kinda really love it! It’s seductive and sultry, and it’s super catchy. The only problem I have with it is that it’s too drawn out, if it had been a little shorter it would have been sweeter and easier to appreciate.

RATING: 4/5

All in all this isn’t an album I would recommend at all, only two songs on the mini-album I feel I would ever recommend to anyone and those two songs are Can’t U See and Super Duper. The title track? Hell no. dB Rider and queen can be catchy and infectious at certain parts but a good song is good in all its entirety not select parts. I really was expecting so much more from Son Dambi, I don’t know why because I’ve never really liked any of her past songs but I just thought she would come out of nowhere and impress! Well guess not, at least she gave me two very nice songs.

OVERALL RATING: 3.5/5

Published in: on July 12, 2010 at 2:23 PM  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kpopjpopomy.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/review-son-dambis-the-queen-mini-album/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Drum Drun

    • huh?


Leave a comment